Clare County Library
Clare History
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

Frequently asked questions:

When did County Clare belong to Connacht?

In the period from 1568 - 1578 the Lord Deputy, Sir Henry Sydney, subdivided the existing shire of Connacht into the counties of Clare, Galway, Mayo and Sligo. Clare, which in a physical sense, belongs more to Connacht than to Munster, was carved out of the mediaeval territory of the O'Brien's of Thomond. It was returned to Munster in 1639.

<< Frequently Asked Questions