Clare County Library
Your Library Your Website
Home | Library Catalogue | Branch Libraries | Children's Services | Special Services | Library Events | Book Promotions
Contact Us | Visitors Book | What's New


Standing in Another Man's Grave by Ian Rankin

<< Books of the Month
<< Previous Adult Books of the Month

Adult Book of the Month

Standing in Another Man’s Grave by Ian Rankin
Published in 2012 by Orion in 2012

It is twenty five years since Ian Rankin first introduced us to John Rebus and five years since Rankin sent him into retirement. However Rebus was just too good a character to let lie and we see his return in Standing in Another Man’s Grave.
2012 finds Rebus, who is back as a civilian consultant working in Edinburgh’s cold case unit, approached by a woman whose daughter disappeared a decade previously. Two more women have gone missing from the same road where Sally Hazlitt was last seen. Unlike his skeptical colleagues, Rebus can sense a connection and persuades former colleague Siobhan Clarke to help him search out the truth.

Still smoking and drinking and as belligerent as ever, it isn’t long before he finds himself in trouble with Rankin's latest creation, Malcolm Fox of Edinburgh's internal affairs unit. (Fox is Rankin's new series character; he's already starred in two novels of his own, The Complaints, and The Impossible Dead). And consorting with known criminals and spending too much time in bars, Rebus is viewed as a bit of a dinosaur by the new breed of by-the-book police officers with their new technology. Not that any of that is going to stop Rebus. Not even when his own life and the careers of those around him are on the line.
Fans of Rebus will be delighted to hear that Rankin leaves the door wide open for future appearances by their favourite detective.

‘Genius... Rankin once again proves himself to be the consummate master of crime.’ Scotland on Sunday

‘An impeccably crafted whodunnit‘ Sunday Times

‘Rankin draws us into a thematically rich plot that evolves into a meditation on morality and how best to asses a man's worth... Rebus is one of the most popular fictional characters of our generation.‘ Irish Times

Ian Rankin was born in the Kingdom of Fife, Scotland in 1960. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. Rankin has received the OBE for services to literature.